Events Shop Audio / Video USL Home USL Home Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog RSS RSS RSS News Stats Scoreboard
USL Premier Development League
Central Conference
Eastern Conference
Southern Conference
Western Conference
Share | |
2005 PDL All-Conference Teams announced
USL News Release
Monday, August 8, 2005
TAMPA, FL Ė United Soccer Leagues announced the 2005 Premier Development League All-Conference Teams Monday, honoring the top 44 players of the season as voted on by the team coaches and general managers.

The Chicago Fire Premier and Ocean City Barons led the way with four players recognized in their respective conferences while the Richmond Kickers Future, Cascade Surge and regular season champion Orange County Blue Star saw three players honored.

The 2005 PDL finalists Des Moines Menace had one representative honored with two-time league MVP Tomas Boltnar receiving the nod in the Central Conference. The championship host El Paso Patriots placed two on the Southern Conference list in midfielder Miguel Larrosa and forward Daniel Frias, who won the scoring championship in 2004.

The PDL Championship will feature the Central Conference champion Des Moines Menace visiting the Southern Conference champion El Paso Patriots Saturday, August 13. The game will be at Socorro Stadium at 10:30 pm ET and will be broadcast LIVE on Fox Soccer Channel.
The PDL All-League Team will be announced Tuesday with the Defender of the Year and U-19 Player of the Year honors being announced Wednesday, the Coach of the Year Thursday and the Most Valuable Player at the Championship media luncheon Friday.

Central Conference
The Chicago Fire Premierís Jed Zayner was honored at the back with forwards Kyle Brown and David Leung joining him on the list. Eric Pogue, a late-season addition in goal from Toledo, was also honored. Michigan was the only other team in the conference with two as Bucks defender Kevin Taylor was selected along with midfielder Ryan McMahen. Des Moines, Boulder, West Michigan, Indiana and Kansas City each saw one player honored.

Eastern Conference
The Ocean City Barons and Richmond Kickers Future players took the lionís share of the honors in the Eastern Conference. Ocean City saw a player recognized at each position with goalkeeper Ryan Carr, defender John Thompson, midfielder Tony Donatelli and forward Ruben Mingo being honored. Richmondís trio included defender Stephen Shirley and the forward combo of Cristian Neagu and Dominic Oduro. Reading, Cape Cod, Carolina and Vermont each saw one player honored.

Southern Conference
Joining El Pasoís duo of Frias and Larrosa on the Southern Conference list were a pair of Austin Lightning midfielders Sonny Guadarrama and Marcelino Uriarte. Seven other teams saw one player make the list.

Western Conference
Regular season champion Orange Countyís trio of honorees were led by Goalkeeper of the Year Nathan Pena. He was joined by forward Kai Kamara and defender Jordan Harvey from the Blue Star. The Cascade Surge saw defender Josh Westerman, midfielder Dana McGregor and forward Andriy Budnyy honored from their division champion side.
Central Conference
G Eric Pogue Toledo / Chicago
D Liam Girard Boulder
D Kevin Taylor Michigan
D Jed Zayner Chicago
M Tomas Boltnar Des Moines
M Daniel Bustos West Michigan
M Stephan David Indiana
M Ryan McMahen Michigan
F Kyle Brown Chicago
F David Leung Chicago
F Kyle Perkins Kansas City
Eastern Conference
G Ryan Carr Ocean City
D David Horst Reading 
D Kareem Smith Cape Cod
D Stephen Shirley Richmond
D John Thompson Ocean City
M Tony Donatelli Ocean City
M Justin Moose Carolina
M Bo Simic Vermont
F Ruben Mingo Ocean City
F Cristian Neagu Richmond
F Dominic Oduro Richmond
Southern Conference
G Ryan Shaughnessy Laredo
D Daniell Robertson Central Florida
D John Rodrigues Nashville
D Brad Whitsett Memphis
M Sonny Guadarrama Austin
M Miguel Larrosa El Paso
M Dax McCarty Ajax Orlando
M Marcelino Uriarte Austin
F Pablo Araya New Orleans
F Daniel Frias El Paso
F Freddy Moojen Cocoa
Western Conference
G Nathan Pena Orange County
D Jose Delgadillo Fresno 
D Jordan Harvey Orange County
D Josh Westermann Cascade
M Manuel Brasil California
M Frabricio Codeceira Fresno 
M Dana McGregor Cascade
M BJ Pugmire BYU
F Andriy Budnyy Cascade
F Brett Hite Spokane
F Kei Kamara Orange County
© Copyright 2010 United Soccer Leagues. All rights reserved.
© Copyright 2010 Demosphere International, Inc. All rights reserved.